Brussels Sprouts?…Yes Please!!

As I sit here enjoying a second helping of pure goodness, I can only but shake my head that something I so despised as a child; I now cannot imagine NOT eating! Regularly! For 50 years I’ve been missing such awesomeness, such complex flavor! What could it be, what could be so satisfying that I rue missing it for all this time…Brussels sprouts you say?

Seriously, what kid grew up loving Brussels sprouts? I recall them floating in the pot of boiling water, boiling away for eternity, like all vegetables were cooked when I was young! All boiled WELL into submission! Then to the plate where mushy, sour and stinky ‘cabbage nuggets’ waited for me. Time and time again I tried to wait them out, for my Mom to let me slide and leave the table without choking them down. Not a chance. Thankfully she was kind enough to only serve a few onto my plate. So when she wasn’t looking, I would quietly “fling” them, one by one into the centerpiece on the table! Ha! She would never know ‘til those little hard rocks rolled out one day! And by then, they would be unidentifiable! I’ll tell you one thing, I knew I would NEVER make my kids eat these horrid little things!

Fast forward, oh maybe 50 years. My husband decides he’s going to try a recipe he saw or heard about somewhere. Yes, Brussels sprouts were about to creep back onto my plate! And let me tell you, I couldn’t be happier! What changed? Was it me? Was it the preparation? Well, something fabulous happened and now I crave those little buggers! I’ve recently been known to make a restaurant dining decision based on whether or not they have these delectable little balls of goodness on their menu! Truth! I hope you’ve had a laugh with me today! Enjoy this recipe; it’s truly fantastic!

Bacon Brussels Sprouts (serves 2)

Ingredients:
12-14 small Brussels sprouts
2 bacon rashers, minced
2 garlic cloves, thinly sliced
¼ cup olive oil
2 tablespoons Sea or Kosher salt
Salt and pepper

Method:

View the Original Blog post here [(http://rondahartman.com/brussels-sprouts-yes-please/)]

Content Distribution Provided by Freskos Media an Atlanta Internet Marketing Company

 
1
Kudos
 
1
Kudos

Now read this

Legacy Makers, Dreamers and Believers

Legacy Makers, dreamers, believers. It’s who we are. We are the crazy ones who believe we really can change the world, aren’t we? And we CAN. After all, we love to pay it forward, don’t we? Random acts of kindness. Aaah, it feels so good... Continue →